Home

My first day was really my third day in the office…1st of April, April Fools Day.  That’s how I’m feeling about this experience so far.  I’m going to wake up and it will have all just been a really good dream.

I had a request to take a selfie sitting on the custom made world scout badge mat.  I told some of my colleagues who all laughed and volunteered to take the photo for me.  BUT I’m going to hold off talking the photo until I have a purple t-shirt, that way I can be a chameleon.  So you can all have a photo of this really cool mug for now. It started off as black, by the time I got to my desk it looked like this…

IMG_7109

First off I had a short induction to the office, the WSB in general and was given the brand new Employee Handbook to read and sign off.  Then the rest of today full of reading.  I read through the preposed Guidelines and Implementation Handbook for the SWA which is going through a bit of a facelift. There was also a heap more reading to get myself up to speed on the work that the previous Intern had done.

Being introduced to everyone in the office was the hardest part of the day.  I think I know about 8 of the 30 peoples names in the office.Tut Tut I also only realised when I got into the office that I had been emailing a colleague using her family name for the past two weeks. I think I’m going to take the Contact Book home tonight for my bedtime reading, can’t have that happening again.

I got give the power of key cards, keys, administrative rights to FB pages and scouts.org. I wish I could say that there was something more exciting that happened today but I guess that will be waiting for me when I leave for Paris next week.

PS: By the time I had finished writing this post the mug looked like this..

IMG_7110

Leave a Reply

