Home

While I was doing some research for my Honours year project, I procrastinated my way to the World Scout Bureau’s (WSB) website and found myself looking at current job opportunities.

Intern – World Scout Bureau Kuala Lumpur Office Applications Due January 18th 2015

It was the 12th of January by the time I found the application.  The pack then went on to say that; Ideally, the new Intern, Scouts of the World Award will be operational no later than 1 March 2015.  Well I was meant to be starting my Honour year on the 2nd of March but that didn’t stop me from staring to write my resume right then.

I didn’t want to get to excited about the position so I only told Mum as I wanted her to proof read my cover letter… I told Dad because I assumed Mum would have told him and I couldn’t have Dad getting jealous.

So off the email went into cyber space on the 16th of January (except for the automated bounce back) I heard nothing.  I tried to put it out of my head thinking that there was a mass of applicants and the WSB didn’t have time to get back to everyone. Then on the morning of the 17th of February I got a very unexpected email…

Dear Caitlin,

Greetings from Kuala Lumpur…

Right at the very top, filling the subject line, words that I had been hoping to see; Shortlisted.

We are happy to inform you that you are shortlisted to this opportunity. In order to go further, we would like to ask you to do some tasks that will give us more indication about your personality and capacity to this vacancy. These tasks are:

  • Create a short “self explanatory” presentation (power point or any other format) that describes in brief to any young person from 15-26 how they can apply and implement the Scouts of the World Award.
  • Simple video (not more than 2 minutes) of you giving speech in English on “how we can motivate young people to be an active citizens and contribute positively to create better world around him/her.

I had until the 27th of February to complete them. Now I was really nervous. I replied back to let the WSB know that I was still very interested in the position and got to work. I printed off the Scouts of the World Award Program Guidelines and spent most of the day trawling through the content until I had summarised 113 pages down to 5. Even then that was too much content for a presentation.

Eight days later I was done. I had a presentation that I was happy with and a video that I didn’t completely cringe while watching. So off that email went into cyber space.

This time around the WSB didn’t leave us hanging quite as long. I woke up on the 5th of March to another email from the WSB, this time I didn’t want to open it thinking all my luck had been used up to get shortlisted the first time around. But there it was again;

Dear Caitlin,

I would like first to thank you for the tasks that you sent us … They are really great

I am happy to tell you that you are shortlisted now for the interview (final step before selection).

Eeek I couldn’t contain my excitement…I did a little dance, got really excited and then super nervous. By this stage I could see myself moving to KL and I knew that if I didn’t get the job I would be really disappointed.

Unfortunately I had to reschedule the time for the skype interview as I was going to be driving back from Adelaide. Black mark against my name 😦 So Wednesday the 11th of March was set 10am KL time or 1pm Melbourne time.

Those few days leading up to the interview was the first time that I told anyone other than my immediate family (I later found out the my Mum had told everyone that I was applying for the job, she obviously have more confidence in my than I did).

The interview came and went. I still can’t really remember what was discussed but there wasn’t a question I couldn’t answer so I took that as a positive. The interview lasted a whole 15 minutes and 11 seconds, the quickest interview that I have ever had. But I guess there was something there that they liked because along came the next email;

Dear Caitlin

We are pleased to inform you that you have been selected to work in World Scout Bureau Kuala Lumpur Office as an intern.  

OMFG I’m moving to Kuala Lumpur…

One thought on “how it all began…

Leave a Reply

